Suspense continues in Congress regarding Amethi and Raibeli seats

Two phases of voting have taken place for Lucknow Lok Sabha Elections-2024. Now the political temperature has risen for the third phase of voting to be held on May 7. NDA and India Alliance have announced their candidates on most of the seats in Uttar Pradesh. But there is still suspense regarding some seats. Congress has not yet declared candidates on Amethi and Rae Bareli seats, while BJP is still in a dilemma on Kaiserganj seat. Voting on all these seats is to be held in the fifth phase on May 20. The process of filing nominations has started from 26th April. May 3rd is the last date. Union Minister Smriti Irani will file her nomination papers in Amethi on Monday.
Congress is preparing to field Rahul Gandhi from Amethi. Earlier it was being said that the announcement of Rahul's candidature from Amethi was put on hold till the voting in Wayanad. Rahul Gandhi is a candidate from Wayanad seat of Kerala. Voting has taken place in the second phase on this seat but till now the name of Congress candidate from Amethi has not been declared. Amethi has been the traditional seat of the Gandhi family. From Firoz Gandhi to Sanjay Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi have represented this seat.
However, in the 2019 elections, BJP's Smriti Irani defeated Rahul Gandhi from this seat. In this election too, Smriti has been repeatedly challenging Rahul Gandhi to contest from here, claiming a huge victory. Congressmen also want Rahul Gandhi to contest from Amethi seat so that there can be an end to the discussions in the political circles that the Gandhi family has left Uttar Pradesh.